Our Board

The YWCA Australia Board governs our organisation in a strong and ethical way.

What does our Board do?

The YWCA Australia Board establishes the strategic directions and policies that guide our work.

The Board also ensures that YWCA Australia is soundly governed and managed for the benefit of all.

YWCA Australia's Executive Officer, supported by our staff team, manages the day to day operations of the organisation on the delegated authority of the Board.


Our Board members

Ilena Young
Co President

Ilena is the current Co president of YWCA Australia. She is currently Manager of the Wangaratta Regional Study Centre at Charles Sturt University

Roslyn Dundas
Co President

Roslyn is current Co President of YWCA Australia. She is a former member of the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly and was the youngest woman ever elected to an Australian parliament. She is policy and advocacy advisor for CARE.

Julie Boyd
Incoming President

Julie brings to the role extensive Board and executive management experience,  including as a Board member of the Australian Institute of Management (AIM) during their merger and as the former Mayor of Mackay.

Julie is based regionally in Mackay, Queensland, and appreciates the importance of regional presence in working across a national organisation such as the YWCA. 

Julie is excited to lead the future national organisation, strengthening our voice and impact for generations of women to come. 

Danielle Wruck

Danielle Wruck is the Treasurer of YWCA Australia. She is a Fellow of CPA Australia (FCPA) and works in senior management with one of Australia's major banks. Danielle has a diversified background covering financial management, operations, strategy, risk, people, leadership and major change projects with over 20 years personal experience. 

Danielle holds a Bachelor of Law (Honours) and a Bachelor of Business (Accounting Major). 



Tristan Landers
Vice President 

NSW Nominee Director

Tristan is a Management Consultant with a background in banking, organisational change, sustainability, organisation culture and diversity, community investment, Indigenous community development and process reengineering.

Tristan has a Bachelor of Arts, a Bachelor of Laws and is a Graduate of the Company Directors Course with the Australian Institute of Company Directors. 

Landers 2013

Kate Fazio 
Vice President 

Victoria Nominee Director

Kate Fazio is the Nominee Director for YWCA Victoria. Kate is the Manager of Education and a lawyer for Justice Connect’s Not-for-profit Law service. She is focussed on capacity building for the charities and not-for-profit sector across Australia, supporting the sector to be vibrant, effective and well-governed. Kate has worked as a corporate lawyer with King and Wood Mallesons, and also as a program coordinator with not-for-profits including the Australian Business and Community Network.

Kate holds a Bachelor of Arts (Media and Communications), Bachelor of Laws (Hons), Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice, and is currently completing a Graduate Certificate in Social Impact. 

Melissa Du Heaume

Small Association Representative

Melissa is a medical student and university tutor in anatomy and physiology.  Melissa has worked for the Federal Public Service in policy and communications and also as a Program Administrator for a not-for-profit in mental health and youth programs. 

Melissa holds a Bachelor of Health Science (Public Health and Microbiology), Bachelor of Commerce (Management and Marketing) and has studied with the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Kirsty Rourke

Queensland Nominee Director

Kirsty Rourke is the Nominee Director for YWCA Queensland. She is a real estate professional with 10 years’ experience in the property and construction industries in Brisbane. Currently, Kirsty is involved in the development and delivery of real estate projects around Brisbane. Previously, Kirsty was a lawyer with extensive experience in all property related matters, including commercial, industrial and rural property transactions, disputes and planning and environment law. Kirsty brings to the YWCA Queensland her experience in the property sector, risk management and previous involvement with other NFP organisations.

Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice, Bachelor of Law (Hons), Bachelor of Commerce


Larnie Batten

Darwin Nominee Director

Larnie Batten is the Nominee Director for YWCA Darwin. Larnie coordinates National Youth Week across the Northern Territory each year. She is passionate about ensuring young people voices and opinions are represented, as well ensuring there are leadership and development opportunities for all young people and women across the Territory.

Larnie holds a Bachelor of Commerce majoring in Economics and Management.

Larnie Batten


Cathi Moore

Canberra Nominee Director

Cathi has been very active in the setting-up and administration of the national network of women’s organisations, WomenSpeak (now known as the Equality Rights Alliance), which is managed by YWCA Australia. Her contributions have been key in bringing together women’s organisations across Australia, making for more effective advocacy on the many challenges facing young women in Australia. For her more than 20 years of dedicated work for YWCA around the country, Cathi was appointed a life member at Convention in Melbourne in 2004.

Catjhi Moore


Amanda Taylor 

Adelaide Nominee Director

Amanda is the interim Nominee Director for YWCA Adelaide.

She is a Fellow of CPA Australia and 2016 Deputy President of the CPA Australia South Australian Divisional Council. Amanda is Campus Manager for Kaplan Business School, Adelaide. She brings broad experience in the education and public sectors to the Board, with particular experience in the areas of operations, finance and governance. Amanda is also the Treasurer for YWCA Adelaide.

 Along with her professional designation, Amanda holds a Bachelor of Business (Business Management), a Bachelor of Arts (Japanese) and a Graduate Diploma in Accounting. 






Incoming Board

The new Directors for the incoming Board have been announced. Leadership positions will officially commence on day one of the new national organisation. 

Click here to view the new Board in our National Merger Project update.

For more information visit the National Merger Project Website here. 

More information about our Board

The Board represents the interests of local YWCA associations and groups at a national level.

The YWCA Australia Board has representatives from YWCA Australia's large member associations (YWCA of Adelaide, YWCA of Canberra, YWCA of Darwin, YWCA NSW, YWCA Queensland and YWCA Victoria).

The Board has two board members representing the interests of all the smaller YWCA associations (Albury-Wodonga, Broken Hill, Hunter Region, Perth, as well as local groups in Cairns, Port Pirie and Rockhampton).

The Board also has a President and Treasurer, elected by our members at our three-yearly Convention (which was last held in November 2015). Currently, we have two Co-Presidents.

As part of our commitment to young women's leadership, 30 percent of YWCA Australia's Board members must be 30 and under.

Past Presidents of YWCA Australia

Past President is Nicole Swaine (Sep 2012- Nov 2016)

Dates Employed

» See a list of our other past Presidents